Tropical chia breakfast

This is a refreshing change from porridge and almost has a tropical taste to it! I had my doubts about mixing orange and milk as the original recipe suggested, but I would definitely do it again!

The orange zest gives it a lovely freshness and the honey or maple syrup proportion can be changed depending on the amount of sweetness you like for breakfast.

I’m also amazed by how satisfying chia seeds are. I don’t really feel like I’m eating a proper meal when I’m just have a chia based breakfast, but it usually keeps my hunger away for well into lunchtime.

Give it a go!

Ingredients for one:

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 orange juice
  • zest of half an orange
  • 1 tsp honey or maple syrup
  • 1.5 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp oats

Combine all the ingredients and mix together so it’s all combined. Then leave refridgerated overnight and it should have set a little in the morning. Stir again to combine.

I sprinkled a little dessicated coconut over mine which definitely helped with the imagining of palm trees and sandy beaches while eating my tropical breakfast!

Leave a Reply

