Rye and caraway bread

These days I tend not to eat much bread – usually just a bagel for breakfast on weekends as a treat. But as part of trying to clear out my pantry I found a recipe that helped chip away at the stack of flours and instant yeast sachets that I’d managed to acquire. I also love an excuse to use caraway seeds and this recipe is so easy I thought I have to post it – perhaps for next time I have family visiting who would like some fresh, home-made bread.

It’s a really simple ingredients list: 

  • 200g strong white flourDSC_2892_1
  • 200g rye flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tbsp caraway seeds
  • 1 sachet 7g easy bake yeast
  • 2 tbsp sunflower (or olive) oil
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 225ml warm water

If you know anything about making bread, the recipe will contain no surprises. And if you don’t know anything about making bread, then rest assured, this is super easy!

  1. Combine dry ingredients in a mixing bowl, make a well, then add in the wet ingredients.
  2. Mix together to form a dough. I start off effectively stirring the mixture, then switch to using my hands.
  3. Once you’ve got a dough, knead for 10 minutes, then place it into the loaf tin to rise in a warm place, covered with a damp towel, until it’s doubled in size. I gave it about 30 – 45 mins. Preheat the oven to gas mark 5.
  4. Place the dough in the oven and bake for 35 mins.

A good way of checking if your bread is perfectly cooked is either knocking on the bottom of it (when you’ve taken it out of the tin!) to check it sounds hollow, or checking the middle internal temperature with a meat thermometer – it should be 190F and will rise to 200F over the next 5 – 10 mins once it’s out of the oven.

Delicious with either sweet or savoury topping – my favourite is with some butter and honey!

Leave a Reply

