Beetroot carrot slaw with ginger walnut dressing

Well I’ve kind of given everything away in the name! This is a delicious, fresh lunch I had a couple of times this week, with great superfood ingredients like spinach, beetroot and ginger as well as walnuts to provide crunch and an extra helping of antioxidants and other good stuff.

I actually found my inspiration in a Sainsbury’s recipe at a time when I wanted a break from a usual chicken or tuna salads. I wanted to up my iron levels so I was looking for something that included beetroot, and I added in some spinach for extra goodness. I kept it vegetarian and raw, but to up the protein I added some walnuts. Seeds and a variety of nuts would have been even better.

It’s really straightforward because you literally grate your ingredients – beetroot, carrot and apple. I used equal amounts of each. They are quite juicy, so I made a batch of this as well as a small bowl of dressing. Then each morning when making my lunch, I added in some fresh shredded spinach and walnuts on top, as well as a tablespoon of dressing.

So your ingredients for 2 – 3 portions are:
2 beetroots
2 carrots
2 apples
3 handfuls walnuts
3 handfuls spinach

To make the dressing combine:
juice of 1 lime
1 tbsp runny honey
1 tbsp grated ginger
2 tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper

Feel free to vary the ingredients for both the salad and dressing mixes depending on your taste preferences.

Leave a Reply

