Cannellini bean soup with lightly smoked salmon

We’ve recently bought a new fridge freezer, and as the nights draw in and twilight is earlier each evening, I’m all about making healthy, hearty, warming food – which will serve us for at least two meals worth and I can freeze a portion for a convenient meal in a week or two.

I went slightly overboard with this one. Although the BBC Good Food recipe I used suggests freezing leftover portions, after one meal (two portions) as I transferred it into tupperware, I realised I had about 5 portions left!! So, lots of convenient week night meals over the next month or so!

Although this has lots of great, healthy ingredients in, I served it with some lightly smoked salmon (the kind you still have to cook) for extra protein – and it was definitely filling enough and did not leave me wanting croutons, which I find are usually the best bit about soup.

The super healthy ingredients I used were:

  • 1 tbsp cooking oil (I used coconut but olive would also be fine)
  • 4 shallots
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 1 carrot, finely chopped
  • 2 celery sticks, finely chopped
  • 2 leeks, finely chopped
  • 150g chorizo (bacon or pancetta would also be fine)
  • 1.2L chicken or vegetable stock (I used 600ml of each)
  • 4 bay leaves
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 x 450g cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 big handfuls kale

What to do:

  1. Heat the oil in the casserole dish and add the shallots, garlic, carrot, celery, leeks and bacon. Stir occasionally and cook until softened: about 5 – 7 minutes. If you’re cooking salmon, get it in the oven about now if that’s how you’re cooking it.
  2. Add the stock, then the bay leaves, oregano and kale. Season and bring to the boil, then cover and simmer gently for 15 minutes. Taste while it’s cooking, and temper the flavours as you need to, adding any seasoning or additional herbs. You can cook it longer if there’s too much liquid and/or you want to strengthen the flavour.
  3. Add the beans, cover again, and simmer for a further 5 miuntes.

Eat and enjoy – and plan when to have any extra portions you have left over!

Leave a Reply

