Green power

This may well be the craziest, weirdest, are-you-actually-serious smoothie recipe yet, but I’m drinking it and really enjoying it, so I’m going to share it with you!

Earlier this year I bought some matcha green tea which I’ve tried in various ways but not yet in a smoothie, so I had a look online for ideas. I found the basic recipe on matchasource.com, listed as a Paleo and Bullet Proof Green Tea Smoothie. Reading the ingredients I thought it might be a bit thick, and as it’s a hot summer’s day, it struck me the perfect addition would be some iced peach tea (I’ve got some tea bags that are specifically for making iced tea and you just add cold water. However if you don’t have these, making either fruit or green tea and letting it cool would also work).

So I mixed all of these random ingredients in a blender:

200ml iced peach tea
1 banana
25g hemp protein powder
cinnamon
1/2 tsp matcha green tea powder
1 tsp coconut oil

The banana had been frozen, so it helped cool the drink. If you’re using fresh, I’d recommend adding ice cubes as well.

I realise a few of the ingredients are a bit niche, but it tastes amazing – they all blend together really well so you kind of get hints of what’s in it, but it doesn’t specifically taste of just one thing. Try it!

Leave a Reply

